You can now archive learning activities and events in Firmwater LMS. Archived items cannot be edited and no new participants may be added. Existing participants continue to have access.
Archiving gives you a way to get old content out of view, but still keep all the history associated with that content. Some scenarios where this may come in handy:
- You don’t want to see old events.
- You are refreshing your content library with mobile-friendly courses. Since you may want to roll out the new courses slowly to your clients, it’s sometimes best to load them as new content. As you replace each course, you can archive the old version so it is not used going forward.
- You want to hide the individual modules that are used by assembled courses. Archiving the original modules allows you to still update them, but gets them out of view.
How to archive content
Administrators (with appropriate privileges) can archive content by selecting one or more courses from the ‘Activities’ or ‘Events’ page in the ‘Content’ tab and using the ‘Archive’ operation.
The list of courses can be filtered to show only the active courses, only the archived courses, or all courses.
How is this different from deleting content?
Deleting content wipes it from the system while archiving just gets it out of view. If you want existing participants to continue to have access and you want to keep the history associated with a course or event, archive it.
|Archive Content vs. Delete Content||Archive||Delete|
|Can still be accessed by existing participants||✔||x|
|Still appears in reports||✔||x|
|Additional participants can be added||x||x|
|Content can be updated||✔||x|
|Content can be edited||x||x|
|Shows in active activities list||x||x|
|Shows in archived activities list||✔||x|
|Content can be reactivated||✔||x|